Weekend / Workout

A good thing

Ok – so I wasn’t going to post today. I’ve been loving having the weekends as a “blogging vacation.” Unfortunately, when you want to write, you just have to write. So, here I go.

Yesterday after classes, I was feeling pretty down. I’m not really sure why. I attribute it to the fact that I just had some free time with nothing to do. I tend to get like that. The second I don’t have something to do, I get lonely and think too much. It’s no fun.

Luckily, I had plans to go to a yoga studio nearby with one of my friends from high school later in the afternoon. I caught up on my TV shows, (if you haven’t watched MTV’s Catfish, you really must) and got ready for yoga.

IMG_2705

Wow. Let me just tell you…I NEEDED yoga more than I thought. I do not stretch, ever. Probably a bad habit, but I just don’t. That being said, a lot of the moves I used to be able to accomplish a super deep stretch in were just not happening yesterday.

That didn’t matter, though. Our yoga teacher was awesome. She didn’t correct me if I was doing a pose slightly off, and she was actually soothing. It takes A LOT for me to actually relax and not think about anything for a good hour and fifteen minutes. Heck, knowing the class was that long scared me.

Guess what? The time absolutely flew by. The best part? I almost fell asleep during meditation at the end. That was great.

After yoga, I got ready to go out to dinner with a couple of my sisters. We went to my favorite restaurant downtown, Cabo Fish Taco. I LOVE this place. It was actually featured on Food Network’s Diner’s, Drive-Ins, and Dives. Which is pretty cool if you’re a Food Network nerd like me. I got the Honey Wasabi Tuna burrito on whole wheat along with copious amounts of chips, salsa, and guacamole. It was so good.

IMG_2707

After that, we wandered around in search of tacky Christmas clothing for a social tonight. It was exactly what I needed. Sure, we weren’t doing anything too crazy (unless you count wandering around Goodwill at 9 PM crazy) but I loved it.

As for today, I slept in for a bit, used up the last of my pumpkin and made pumpkin waffles, and went out for an 8 mile trail run. I decided to actually go at tempo pace (I usually end up running faster when I plan to run tempo) and it felt awesome. I was a bit sore from all my speed work this week, but I definitely needed to get off the dreadmill and in the fresh air. I chose the perfect day, too. A high of 60 degrees on the first day of December is unheard of!

IMG_2710

Now, I’m just sipping on an iced coffee with egg nog (tis the season!) and working on some homework! Have a great Saturday!

P.S. – This was a cool article. I’m honing all the old lingo from high school track!

15 thoughts on “A good thing

  1. Aw, I’m glad you’re feeling better today. I’m having one of those “down” days because I’m really at a loss for things to do. I was supposed to do things with my roommate today but she bailed so now it’s a free day. And guess what? I’m going to make it all better by going to yoga! No running either. It’s taking every ounce of restraint in my body to not go out today. I have to keep reminding myself that it’s for the best! I hope your day is absolutely wonderful and you are super productive with homework 🙂

    • I seriously hate when people do that. When I make plans, I follow through with them and expect others to do the same. Yoga cures all wounds, seriously. I know it’s hard not to run…it was hard for me to avoid it yesterday knowing I was going to yoga. It made my run today THAT much better!

  2. Aw hun, the same thing happens to me too 😦 I think you got through it wonderfully, though! It looks like you had a great afternoon/evening full of fun things, so I’m glad that you were able to push through it and not let it get you too down 🙂

  3. I hate when I get in those attitudes, i was in the same one last night. best thing I learned is to reach out and do something for you. sounds like you did just that. I can’t wait for christmas break to go to my hot yoga place. boy I need it. keep resting that body, we don’t want any injuries or over soreness in this beautiful weather coming up!

  4. Ohmygoodness, I get the same way — whenever I slow down, it’s like everything catches up with me and I get overwhelmed. Sounds like you found the absolute perfect way to beat it though!! I’m glad you got your pick-me-up!! 😀 And it’s not like it took anything extraordinary, it just goes to show how much just being thankful for the ordinary can do for your soul!!

  5. I’ve actually been thinking about doing yoga a LOT lately… but I still haven’t. I used to watch videos on Hulu for some free yoga sessions because I don’t know of an affordable studio near USC. Challenge for myself this week is going to be doing yoga – even if it is just for 10 minutes!

    Your dinner looks great and it is so cool that the restaurant was featured on Triple D… Love that show and all of Guy Fieri’s tackiness.

    There have been so many Christmas attire social events going on here too, but surprisingly I haven’t attended one yet. I’d definitely have to hit up the local goodwill to find an ugly sweater!

    • Maybe a studio nearby your school offers an introductory week with a flat fee? My studio did that and it’s great – I can go to as many classes as I want this week:)

      Guy is one of my favorites on Food Network…mostly because it’s so fun to mock him.

      I don’t normally go to our socials too much, so I thought I’d go all out for this one! Definitely try Goodwill- but Target had lots of cute accessories, too!

  6. I am so glad you decided to head to yoga, and you were able to clear your mind and just get back to yourself. Your night with your sisters sounds perfect, and exactly what you needed. Continue smiling =)

  7. sounds like you had such an awesome day, glad you posted so we could all enjoy it vicariously through you. everything you said about yoga – that’s how i always feel when i finally take a class. i never regret it and i always walk out feeling so amazing. i don’t know why it’s so hard for me to make myself go because i absolutely love it when i do. probably because i’m addicted to sweating and running. time to recognize it’s all about mixing it up!

  8. Sounds like a really great day! I haven’t been blogging in over a week because of my move, but I don’t usually write on the weekends either. I am so happy to be back reading everyone’s blogs and getting caught up again! I definitely need to find a new yoga place here too- it’s been like a month and I am crazy tight!
    Happy Monday!

Leave a Reply

