Thankful Thursday

Repetitive thankfulness

Okay – so I’m going to sound like a bit of a broken record, here. But this week, I’m thankful for all my blends and their beautiful posts all week (especially Tuesday). It sounds crazy, but you all have given me the push I needed to cut back and be a bit more realistic with my running.

1

Before I start rambling, thanks to Jessie for hosting!

I think we can suffice it to say that I love running. I do it daily not because I feel like I have to, but because I want to. I feel better after running…I can de-stress and let my mind wander. That being said, I’m finally starting to realize that I don’t NEED to run every day to feel this way. I think I’m craving a break, or at least a different way to de-stress.

I’m running two half marathons early next year, and it’s just not going to happen if I keep running like a crazy person as I do right now. I think this is why I’ve been so happy I’ve found yoga. Yoga is no joke. You know those really zen people who drink green tea and never seem to get stressed out? It’s probably because they do yoga and/or meditate daily.

In yoga, I think about nothing other than yoga and listening to the instructor’s voice. Sometimes, yoga hurts for me (probably because I very rarely stretch after running) so I adjust the moves to what works for me. And that’s fine – one of the instructors always says “Yoga isn’t supposed to hurt.” I think that’s true for any type of exercise – it’s not supposed to hurt. When it is starting to hurt, don’t push yourself.

I wasn’t doing that. I’ve run through injuries a lot and been fine. I’m starting to realize that if I want to keep this running thing going and run marathons in the future, I’m really going to have to start listening more and giving myself rest when I need it. That’s hard for me, I have issues sitting still. I’m getting better, though. It helps that Β it’d be SUPER awkward if I got up in the middle of a yoga class because I got bored. I don’t see that happening soon though, so I think we’re good on that part.

I’ve decided to cut back mileage and focus on improving yoga. You only get better through practice, so that’s what I intend to do. I’ve also looked into CrossFit for when I’m at home. My legs and core are pretty strong, but the same can’t be said for my upper body.

Whew…that seems like a heavy post, huh? Sorry about that, but it really helps to get that out there. I love writing for exactly this reason. More importantly, I love everyone who’s been supporting me in running (even when they think I should cut back…mom’s always right, by the way) and all my blends who have opened up about their experiences.

15340454951254562_YrA7IAYA_c

If you have any other advice, feel free to share- I’d love to hear it.

Oh, and last night I went to a hot yoga class. It was awesome. I scarfed down this pizza and dipped it in hummus. I also had some roasted broccoli on the side.

IMG_2740

Yesterday morning, I tested out Tina’s French Toast Breakfast scramble. It was so good. Minus the fact that it was slightly burned. I haven’t quite mastered the whole “leaving while something’s on the stove” thing.

IMG_2747

I have NO classes today. Lucky, huh? They both got cancelled. That means I’ll be posted up at Starbucks and yoga-ing with a friend later. Duh. Hope everyone has a great Thursday! πŸ™‚

22 thoughts on “Repetitive thankfulness

  1. That Wilde quote is great. I really appreciate my me-time and I know it’s important to have that introspective time. So great that you’re recognizing what your body needs from you. My yoga has changed my running so much. I’m LOVING it. And feel strong

    • I already feel like it’s going to help. I can’t wait to see the benefits! I’ve always wanted to incorporate more strength training – I think yoga is the perfect way to start that

  2. I’m SO glad you realized your body needs a break too! Funny how a few weeks ago, my mom told me the same thing and I shrugged her off and finished our walk together with steam coming out of my ears. Look at me now. Such a proud mom I have (actually, she told me so yesterday haha). You’re right about the yoga, it’s supposed to hurt. I never really understood before, never saw that if I did yoga it didn’t have to be only stretches (although man am I stretched out now), it’s a workout too!
    Anyways, we actually have to meet up now because this is just scary how similar we are, realizing we need to cut back and stop running around like crazy people the same week! Woah. Big stuff.
    Have a wonderful day, girl!

  3. Good for you girl!!! I am so happy for you and proud of you for listening to your body and deciding to focus on yoga to give it a break. Which half marathons are you running?? and those eats look soo tasty! You’re a rockstar πŸ˜‰

  4. i really really really like this post – even if it is kind of heavy. i think that the blogging world is awesome for a lot of things but sometimes it makes me a little competitive when i shouldn’t be and i’m not always honest with myself about what my body needs because i’m comparing myself to others. oh they can run 17,000 marathons a year? i must be able to do that. i’ve got to recognize what works for skinny runner won’t work for everyone else and definitely won’t work for me, and that’s fine! i love that you’re giving your body what it needs!

    • Thanks, Molly! I’m finally starting to realize that comparison is the death of me. I think it helps to step back from the constant comparisons to help with that. It’s a process and I count on you guys to help!

  5. πŸ™‚ I think it’s really great that you’re looking into different ways to de-stress. Running is great, especially if you truly love and enjoy it, but slowing down and replacing it with something like yoga is a really great way to some more balance in your life. You’re kind of a rock star πŸ˜€

    Oh, and yes… mom’s are [unfortunately] always right…

    • Don’t get me wrong – I do love it…but there are soo many other ways to de-stress! The balance is definitely needed. Thank you! Haha I had to call my mom and tell her she was right…she appreciated it πŸ™‚

  6. I am super proud of you for realizing this. i think yoga is a great thing to focus on and will make you a better runner, even though that is hard to believe. you have a whole life of running ahead, no burnout now . right?

  7. I’ve run pretty consistently for about 6 years and I have to say that if I didn’t take breaks every so often I wouldn’t be running right now. It will make you a better runner, I’ve always come back faster after a break if you can believe that!

  8. I used to think that my Mom had a difficult time realizing when she was wrong. Well, turns out that she was never actually wrong, she was right all along. And I’m thankful that I can now realize that I was the one who is usually wrong (and yes, that is already on the list of 1000 thankfuls, somewhere in the 50s or 60s I think. πŸ˜‰ ).
    I’m really excited that you’ve decided to take a step back. I think that the goal is to still be running in my 70s — I can’t do that if I’m out destroying my body now. Hope you’ll be out there pounding the pavement in velcro shoes with me. πŸ˜‰

  9. Loved this post Megan! I think it’s really smart that you understand the reasons you love running, and are learning and looking for other ways to find that same stress relief, without as much stress on your body. Yoga sounds like the perfect way to balance it out πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

