High Five Friday

High fivin’ myself and some other stuff

Good morning! I’m hoping today goes better than yesterday. I was just in one of those funks yesterday. It was hard to shake. Oh well, today’s a new day, right?

I’m participating in Meg’s High Five Friday today! Check out Meg’s blog for some AMAZING recipes. Seriously. I made one this week and it was delicious. A couple things I’m high fiving myself for this week…

  1. Rediscovering my love for yoga. I think this one goes without saying. My legs have been absolutely screaming for a running break. Or just less distance…you already know I’m cutting back on mileage and upping yoga and other forms of exercise. I’m lovin’ it. Especially the fact that I did a handstand from the ground the other day in my Vinyasa class. It is SO empowering to be able to do some of these moves, people. I love it, love it, love it. I’ll admit it, though. I’m having a rough time dealing with the fact I have to cut back my mileage. It sounds so silly – but I think admitting the fact that it needs to be done is the first step.
  2. I stayed at Starbucks for 3 hours yesterday making a complete study guide for my Public Relations class. Win. I’m trying to get my study guides over with early. I have a feeling I’ll lose motivation quickly, so I thought it’d be best to get it done while I’m nice and motivated!

IMG_2753

  1. Theresa and I got a shout out from SoDelicious on Twitter. She initiated it, but I completely nerded out when I got that tweet from them. They even called me Meg! That name is usually reserved for close friends and family, but I love the nickname!

IMG_2754

Oh, and could I get a high five for trying brussels sprouts yesterday?!? I’ve been so scared to try them. The verdict? SO GOOD. I roasted them at 425 with some TJ’s Black Truffle Oil, Everyday seasoning, Garlic Powder, and chopped red onions.

DSC_0513

I served them on top of some leftover spaghetti squash and roasted broccoli. I also added a ton of pasta sauce, nutritional yeast, and parmesan cheese. I was still a little scared to try them plain! So good.

DSC_0516

I can’t really high five myself for this, but Day 6 of Starbucks’ 12 Days of Giving was yesterday. The promotion was a discounted peppermint hot chocolate trio, meaning you get the hot cocoa mix, peppermint syrup, and a mug (I think). Yesterday was one of those days where chocolate was completely necessary.

IMG_2758

I wore my new Old Navy vest yesterday. Had to Snapchat a picture of myself in it to my sister. Per usual.

IMG_2756

My roommate’s friend found out how you can see who of your Facebook friends views your page the most…creepy. I wasn’t surprised at all with who I found on my top ten list.

OH! And for some extra fun today…I’m joining in on the Christmas blogging challenge. I’ll try to participate as much as I can!

challenge (1)

7. My most memorable Christmas. This one’s easy! I remember it like it was yesterday. We were spending Christmas in Chicago at my grandparents’ house (like we do almost every year) and I woke up on an air mattress on the living room floor. Thinking about it now, my parents are champs for sneaking gifts under the tree while my sister and I were sleeping. Sorry for you Santa-believers…didn’t mean to be a Grinch there. I was probably 11 or 12 and I woke up with the worst case of pink eye. It was disgusting. We spent the morning driving all around Chicago searching for an open emergency care clinic. I was wearing my new silk Christmas pajamas…Christmas pajamas are a family tradition. We eventually found some medicine, but I rocked a mean case of pink eye for the next couple days.

I’ll just be hanging around today after class…Friday afternoons are my favorite. Hope you have a great day!

31 thoughts on “High fivin’ myself and some other stuff

  1. Congrats on being motivated and getting stuff done! I hadn’t done yoga in over a month because of moving/thanksgiving etc. but I did an hour in my living room yesterday and it felt AMAZING! however, I am incredibly sore today…

  2. okay so i think i’m too old but i don’t understand snapchat…can you please explain to me lol? and i love your high fives! i think the yoga focus is awesome – my legs have been screaming too for a break but i’m so unwilling to let myself. need to get better about that and get better about yoga in general. i love me some yoga but it’s so easy to let it slide.

  3. Way to go girl! I love the fact that you high fived yourself today πŸ™‚ And for some great reasons too!! Can we take a yoga (totally typed t there first so it read toga hahahaha) class together some day? Just please don’t laugh at me for not being able to do handstands or anything more complicated than a downward dog…ok not really, but definitely not handstands πŸ˜‰ And yay for Starbucks hot chocolate!! Definitely a must need gift πŸ˜‰

    • Haha my iPhone always switches it to toga. And yes! We should definitely take a yoga class at our meet up. After a few classes, you’d be surprised at what you can do! I love the little packets of hot chocolate, but there’s something special Starbucks does to theirs that makes it 100x better!

  4. Yay for studying at starbucks I do the same thing with panera sometimes. Great people watching, better food when you get hungry, and it’s a change of scenery. I’ll take it! I have so much studying to do… it’s actually a problem. Good luck!!
    P.s- when we meet up, a yoga class is necessary πŸ™‚

    • I should definitely switch it up to Panera, there’s one right across the street. So true about the food, too. If I hadn’t packed snacks yesterday, I would have been starving. Agree with you on the yoga thing πŸ™‚

  5. You’re really adorable! Welcome to the brussel sprout club! I’m personally a huge fan. I can only eat my roasted in coconut oil, and tossed in salt and pepper. I can’t eat them steamed. Boy are they good! Congrats on your high five friday! Yoga is the best. πŸ™‚

  6. I think you passed the funk onto me. Friday funk needs to shake before Saturday, blah. I blame it on the dreary weather and lack of sleep… Starbucks used to be my fave study spot during college, close runner-up was Panera πŸ™‚ Free wifi, good food, and usually pretty quiet [but not too eerily quiet]! Anddd now I wanna try brussels sprouts- I’ve tried them once in the past but since Ryan doesn’t care for them I hardly buy them. Have you ever seen the shredded kind? Those look like they’d be good for a first timer, toss them into a salad…

    • Ah! I hope I didn’t pass on the funk to you 😦 Feel better! Love Starbucks and Panera for all of those reasons! I’ve seen the shredded kind, and have actually found some recipes for it. I’m dying to try! Check out Carrots ‘N Cake for recipes!

    • How to describe Snapchat…its basically sending pictures with short messages back and forth to people. The pictures get deleted instantly. It’s been a cool way for me to connect with friends and family while I’m away. I’m such a fan of brussels sprouts!

    • We would get along well! I’m loving the eggnog in the oatmeal. I tweeted at SoDelicious again and they tweeted me back. Freebies are appreciated πŸ™‚ I just had the leftovers for lunch! So convenient to roast up tons of veggies at once. Hope you have a great day!

  7. Sorry to hear about your funk, hun. I get those days too, and sometimes nothing seems to shake them besides falling asleep and starting a new day. Hope today is going better for you πŸ™‚

    Starbucks… I literally spend 2 hours in there on a daily basis – I swear that’s like my second office. I don’t know what it is, but the second I walk through the doors my brain just feels 100x more awake. Or maybe that’s just the caffeine πŸ˜‰

    • A nap was all I wanted to do! Today is a complete 360, thank goodness! We would get along so well. I love coming out of there and smelling like coffee. I’ve convinced myself that I’m far more productive there…it helps me deal with the fact that I spend WAY too much money on coffee. Addict problems, much?

  8. I can’t believe it took you this long to try roasting brussel sprouts. So glad you liked them =) I swear, I eat them every.single.day! && I love that you gave yourself a highfive. you deserve it girl!

  9. I love my Old Navy vest. So perfect for the not so cold but chillier days. πŸ™‚ I also love SO Delicious – that’s awesome that they tweeted at you!

    Starbucks is one of my favorite places to study/read/get stuff done. I was gonna go there today but settled on Caribou Coffee instead. The Starbucks by our house is always packed and has limited seating. Bummer.

  10. Soooo … I’ve never tried brussel sprouts, or nutritional yeast, but I’ve been thinking of giving both a shot. Yay or nay?
    And I literally laughed out loud reading your most memorable Christmas. πŸ™‚ Certainly one to remember, but for not so fun reasons. Hope this one is better — I really don’t think it could be worse!! πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

