MIMM

Marvelously busy

Good morning! I opted not to do a weekend snapshots post and to just bombard you with pictures from this weekend now. It was a pretty great weekend, but definitely hectic. Finals stress is finally starting to set in. I did get the chance to hang out with a bunch of friends and relax before I make my home in Starbucks for the next week. Where to begin? First, thanks to Katie at Healthy Diva Eats for hosting!

 

Marvelous is…trying new food, getting fro-yo, and staying in.

Friday night I had plans to hang out with one of my good friends who just transferred here. We’ve actually known each other since elementary school and live within 5 minutes from each other at home, too. Small world! I went to a Vinyasa class late that afternoon, and was super sore after. We decided to try a cute Thai restaurant nearby campus and ended up being in the right place at the right time, as Blacksburg’s Christmas Parade was going on a couple streets over. It was so nice to see a lit tree!

IMG_2777

I’ve never had Thai food before, so I was intrigued. I ordered a peanutty-noodle salad with chicken. I devoured it. Even though we were pretty full, we had originally planned to get Sweet Frog and did not want to pass it up.

IMG_2779

YUM. Sweet Frog’s holiday flavors are out, so I got a mix of gingerbread, peppermint, and eggnog with some seasonal toppings. So good, so worth it. We hung out and watched The Last Song for the rest of the night. I needed a relaxing Friday night…there’s nothing better.

Marvelous is…waking up bright and early and running 8 miles. Not-so-marvelous is the fact my Garmin died about 4 minutes into my run. Thanks to Sarah’s friendly reminder, I mapped out my distance on mapmyrun.com and it calculated out to be about 8 miles.After my run, I did some laundry. Does anyone else hate folding as much as I do? A word to the wise – NEVER let laundry go for over a week. Especially if you’re going through workout clothes like crazy.

IMG_2784

Marvelous is…having oats in a jar for breakfast. Enough said.

DSC_0513

I had to go to a workshop at my sorority house in the afternoon for officer transition. After, a bunch of us hit up Panera for lunch (YP2 Turkey Harvest salad Β + black bean soup) then Target to pick up a birthday gift for one of my sorority sisters.

IMG_2787

Marvelous is…this gift for my sorority sister! I even picked up pumpkin flavor for myself…because it wouldn’t be a Target trip without buying more than you came for.

IMG_2788

We went out for dinner that night, and I got an Ahi Tuna Wrap and sweet potato fries…it was good while it lasted. It ended with some tummy issues that left me wanting to curl up in fetal position on the couch all night. Not cool.

IMG_2789

I ended up getting a good night sleep and waking up to go to yoga yesterday morning. This class has been one of my favorites so far. It was an hour and a half long and we went through all my favorite flows and positions.Oh…and marvelous is...being able to do a yoga headstand with a spotter! I cannot even begin to tell you how empowering and awesome it was. I can’t wait to be able to do even more advanced moves! Oh, and look at this marvelous-ness I received in the mail yesterday! Mom sent me an old iPod to use and some new pictures for my board!

DSC_0534

That’s a whole lot of marvelous to start the week with! Let’s hope it continues…classes end Wednesday, then I’ll be in the home stretch! Have a great Monday πŸ™‚

34 thoughts on “Marvelously busy

  1. that sounds like an awesome weekend, though i know you could have done without the stomach issues. i’ve never had ahi tuna though and i definitely want to try it. i’m trying to be braver about eating more seafood. so far it’s not really working, lol. good luck with that studying! i know you’re going to kick finals butts!

    • Ugh, thank you. Motivation in any and all forms is greatly appreciated at the moment. I used to only eat shrimp as seafood, I’d say I’ve been making strides. I am obsessed with sushi now!

  2. What a wonderful week (minus the tummy troubles…boo on that 😦 ) I loveeeee Thai food but haven’t had it in ages…definitely making me want some! And you go girl for that headstand!! That’s amazing πŸ™‚ I’m happy that you’re enjoying yoga so much πŸ™‚ Good luck with finals, love!! Almost there, and I know you can rock them!!

  3. Seriously awesomely marvelous weekend you had girl [minus the laundry- I hate it too and far too often let it pile up]. I’ve never tried Thai food [or I can’t remember?] but peanutty noodles sound delic and of course fro-yo is always fabulous! I’m kinda envious of all your seasonal flavors… I haven’t found a place around here that has any of them or maybe I’m not looking hard enough.

    P.S. Are you from Northern VA? From your last picture, your uni’s…

  4. Sounds like you had a great weekend! Your thai food looks awesome!

    I’m the same way about laundry, I procrastinate doing it, don’t want to fold it, and completely dislike putting it away. Boo! I do feel so good once it’s done though, as long as the process doesn’t take me the entire week!

  5. It seems like you had a marvelous weekend! Panera is always a favorite lunch place for me. Have you ever had soup in a bread bowl before? Nom, nom, nom. Good luck on your finals!

  6. Haha it’s definitely not a shopping trip without picking up more than you intended to buy in the first place. Story of my life. Sorry to hear about the stomach woes (gah, can I relate to those), but it sounds like a pretty awesome weekend otherwise πŸ™‚ GOod luck with your studying this week, girl! Don’t stress too much because I’m sure you’re going to rock ’em!

  7. YUM on that froyo! The flavors I would love, holiday flavors are the best! Love the yogurt covered pretzels I spy on the one too!

    Target, you can never go in without leaving with more than you need!

Leave a Reply

