Random stuff

Do What You Want

Okay, so I originally had a survey to post today…but I read an article that completely inspired me to write a post on it. Don’t you love it when that happens? I follow @ThoughtCatalog on Twitter. From what I gather, it’s a bunch of columnists who pretty much blog about whatever they want on a daily basis. Can you say #dreamjob? Most of the time, it’s funny stuff (songs written by Taylor Swift’s exes…) but occasionally, I find something thought-provoking and substantial.

I think my timing in reading this is especially important – I feel like we connect way more to things when they’re especially pertinent. This past weekend, I was completely surprised when a couple of my sorority sisters mentioned reading my blog daily (I’m looking at you Patty and Ellie). At first, I was slightly embarrassed when they told me. It’s like I thought everything I post on here is private. They know what I’m up to, what I’m eating, how far I’m running, what I did this past weekend, the list goes on.

it matters

Then, I remembered why I started my blog. It was meant to be a personal diary of sorts where I could get my thoughts out. Writing has always been my thing, but the old pen and paper method is a bit out of date. Plus, blogging gives me the ability to combine photography (another hobby of mine) with writing. The perfect combination. Recently, my blog has gotten much more personal and I feel completely comfortable expressing my feelings to my computer and the rest of the world.

That’s where the article comes in. The author talks about how rare it is these days where people actually allow themselves to be “raw and vulnerable.” We hide behind our phones with all their applications, social media networks, e-mail capability, and whatever else. Heck, it’s even weird for some people to talk to someone on the phone these days. Here’s one of my favorite quote from the article:

“You don’t get anything you want by subscribing to the social rules of today. You remain frozen and in perpetual fear that you’ll come off as ‘crazy’ to someone, you’re unhinged, you are officially seen as someone with no filter.”

He’s right, though. Why are we afraid to tell people how we really feel? Why can’t we just be honest with ourselves and everyone else and be who we are? I think people are far too concerned with impressing others, constantly comparing themselves, and trying to one-up someone else. What’s the point of that? It’s a constant job. Guess what? Being yourself requires ZERO effort. And people will probably like you even more.

“You know what comes naturally to human beings though? Being open, being messy, being raw, being unfiltered, having lots of feelings. Why should we have to stifle our true nature? Let’s go after the things we want, let’s love each other brutally and honestly, and not worry about the consequences.”

So, yes. I use this blog to get my true feelings out. I realize that by doing this, I am completely vulnerable, and that’s scary. In the end though, I know I’ll be able to look back on my time at college and beyond with no regret because I was me. I don’t, and never plan to be anyone other than me.

Well that was a bit heavy! I thought I’d include a picture today…so here’s me yesterday with my “I’m so happy not one, but ALL of the baristas at Starbucks know my order” face.

IMG_2800

Don’t even worry about my intense fly aways. I don’t even bother to pin them back anymore, I embrace them.

22 thoughts on “Do What You Want

  1. This is wonderful, Megan. Truly. It’s something I struggle with too…I suck at talking on the phone…but I’ll text you till the world ends…I have no problem being open on my blog…but when I find out friends read it, I get nervous. I’ve never shown them most of the “blog” side of me for the reasons you mentioned in your article, and it’s ridiculous. I’m a person. I need to be proud of who I am, craziness and all, and not be afraid to be honest and really talk with myself and the people around me. You’ve given me much to think about today, darlin…thank you! And I love that pic of you 🙂

    • Thanks! You have SO much to be proud about. Based on your past Strength in Freedom posts, you have so much you can speak to people about. I’m inspired reading them, and would love to hear your story in real life!

  2. I didn’t tell my boyfriend about my blog for a few months after I started it, I was a bit embarrassed. Now when my day to day people are like hey I read your blog! I reply with something stupid like “hells yeah, best blog on the planet.”

  3. Ahh this hits very close to home. I recently just found out that a close friend of mine happened across my blog and it totally freaked me out and made me feel like I had to censor my words. It’s kind of crazy that I have no problem sharing my deepest thoughts and feelings with complete strangers, but have the hardest time doing it with people who are closer to me… You’d think it would be the other way around!

  4. Great post Megan! I completely agree with this one, I’m very honest on my blog as well. What’s the point of having one if you’re not? I try not to write about too much “bad” stuff (just because I don’t want to bring others down). But at the same time, I’m not hiding anything, and if I feel I need to talk about something that’s bothering me, I do it! I love that you use your blog as a “diary” too and have made yourself more vulnerable. It makes you even more likable in my opinion! 🙂 As for “real life” people reading your blog, that can be awkward. I know a couple close friends read mine, but other than that I’m not sure…and I don’t know how I’d feel if I found out. Probably a little awkward at first, but I don’t think it would change what I write about.

    • It’s a bit awkward, because people I normally wouldn’t share tons of information with actually know a lot about me through my blog. I’ve always documented my days in some way (you should see the stacks of diaries I have!) so blogging came pretty naturally. I’m glad you like it 🙂

  5. Amazing and thoughtful post! I just started blogging and haven’t told anyone about it, but someone recently posted one of my posts on facebook, and I felt intense embarrassment, my face turned bright red. Even though I haven’t shared anything too personal yet, I still felt really vulnerable and was scared of what people might think. Thanks for posting this, and making me see the situation in a different light!

  6. that’s so funny because i always get super nervous to tell people i know in real life about my blog and yet i’m somehow okay with random strangers knowing about my entire daily life! it seems like the people who i consider my best friends should not be the people i’m embarrassed to imagine reading my blog, but that is the way it is. i really liked this post and i think you’re right – sometimes the exact right articles/books/songs come into our lives just when we need to read them/hear them!

  7. I can’t believe you wrote about this because just the other day, I saw one of my other sorority sisters followed my blog and it sent me into a little mini panic attack. It’s like—oh wait. People I see every day are getting to see a vulnerable side of me and it made me nervous! I love your thoughts on this whole idea though, I totally agree. It’s time we stop hiding behind so many different social media walls and be more vulnerable!

    • Exactly! I don’t know why I was embarrassed, especially with sorority sisters reading – I shouldn’t be worried about their judgment at all. I think we’re great trendsetters as bloggers 🙂

  8. Megan!! This was fabulous and resonates my thoughts on the matter precisely!!! (The matter being “be yourself” and not the article. I hadn’t read the article until now, but loved that too!)
    Honestly — I have spent WAY too many years hiding my true self. So much so, that I’m only just now realizing who my real self really is. And you know what? I owe it to ME to not censor or restrain myself for a moment longer. So I will be unashamedly silly, raw, and real because it’s what feels RIGHT.
    And we can be fly-away twins. 😉

  9. Love this! And I can relate so much… I started blogging for me, an “online diary” or as a “scrapbook” where I could look back on past events and experiences [shared more of my reasons in a post over the weekend] and think that your blog should be your personal space. You should be able to share whatever is on your mind or in your heart, even if it puts you out there and people offer their comments.

    P.S. I need to follow them now too- T.Swift shout outs and inspirational stories, fabulousness!

Leave a Reply

