Surveys

Power in slowing down

Good morning! By the time you read this, I’ll be taking my American Lit final. I spent the majority of yesterday morning in Barnes and Noble reading like a crazy person, so fingers crossed! I meant to put this in an earlier post, but amidst all the finals craziness, I forgot! You all know by now that I’m obsessed with my yoga-ing. On Saturday, our teacher said something that totally stuck with me – “There is power in slowing down.” This strikes me, especially now considering the tragedy in Newtown. It really puts things in perspective. I think we can all stand to slow down a bit. My slow-down moment yesterday? Taking a little nap…and refueling with some egg nog iced coffee after šŸ™‚

IMG_2881

I’m stealing this post from Meghan…I thought it was a great idea. I’m a big fan of all these surveys and facts, it’s so fun! Basically, it’s a list of random numbers that mean something to me. I hope you find it somewhat interesting! If not, blame it on finals brain…

1: the number of days until I get to go home and the number of finals I’ll have left by the time you read this!

$2.09: the amount of money left on my Starbucks gold card.

IMG_2873

3: the number of stars I need to get another free drink (I figured since we were on a Starbucks trend and all…)

4: the number of Mizuno sneakers I have at school (read: not counting the ones at home).

1:37:09: so far, my half marathon PR.

9.0: I completed a HIIT interval workout the other morning, keeping a speed of 9 for 400m! It’s part of my mileage cut-back.

IMG_2874

3:33: my PR for plank holding…to be improved!

13: my favorite number. consequently, it’s Taylor Swift’s too!

8: my favorite distance to run.

IMG_2736

5: the minimum amount of times I refill my Camelbak daily.

2: the maximum amount of times I’ll have coffee daily.

20: the number of Pandora stations I’m counting on to get me through studying for this last final!

That was fun, right? Feel free to comment with any numbers you’re thinking about today šŸ™‚ I’m off!

17 thoughts on “Power in slowing down

  1. I like the numbers game! Your first one makes me really happy for you šŸ™‚ That, and the fact that you have so many pairs of mizunos! I only keep 2 pairs at a time. 1 that I’m currently running in, and the pair that I just stopped running in. Then I send them off to get recycled. YOU ARE GOING TO MAKE IT THROUGH YOUR FINALS! You’re a smart pants (haha) and you’re going to ace them! All of the procrastination nation stuff will help you more than you think šŸ™‚

  2. I think I’m going to write this phrase down and post it next to my bed and in different places around my apartment. It’s beautiful and true and something I need to keep in mind šŸ™‚ And I love number lists like this…although I’m jealous of the pairs of mizunos you have at school…i want more šŸ˜¦

  3. woooo i love this post! so many good numbers in your life and being that i’m a math teacher, you know i love me some numbers. currently the one on my mind the most is 3 – three more sleeps until i’ll be in my bed at my parent’s house. HURRY UP friday šŸ™‚ i hope your final went swimmingly!

Leave a Reply

