Uncategorized

“When I get home, I’m making waffles!”

Guess that movie!

When my mom and I got back from the grocery store, she quoted a certain donkey from one of our favorite childhood movies. (Hint: the movie also features a large green ogre…I didn’t catch it at first either)

I went to bed super early last night, I was exhausted. Not quite sure why, though. My day was pretty uneventful yesterday. It was filled with lots of reading A Thousand Splendid Suns and vegging out in front of the TV with one of my best friends from high school. Hey, it was raining. We didn’t feel like doing much.

The fact we didn’t feel like doing much squashed our plans for actually going anywhere. I would have baked, but didn’t have the ingredients and didn’t feel like heading to the store. Today, my goal is to bake.

I can’t find my June issue of Runner’s World magazine, so when I was at Barnes and Noble yesterday, I purchased it. It’s feature story was one about a vegan runner. I’m intrigued, but don’t think I could cut major food groups out of my diet as he did. The vegan runner did include a recipe for Chocolate Adzuki Bars– now that caught my attention. The article claims that Adzuki beans are the most digestible beans, and that the bars taste a lot like brownies. I want to make them, mostly because I know my search for Adzuki beans would bring me to my second favorite grocery store, Whole Foods.

I also pinned a really good-looking recipe for Chocolate Flourless Oatmeal cookies yesterday…so it’ll be a tough choice!

I literally popped out of bed today (thanks to going to bed early) ready for a run. I completed another five miles via a workout from Iowa Girl Eats. After my workout, I was really excited to try a new flavor of coffee I purchased yesterday: Cinnamon hazelnut. It lived up to all my expectations!

P.S. check out my mug- a Christmas gift from my cousin a couple years ago. “Coffee makes me smart”…couldn’t be more true!

Now for the waffles. While at Wegmans, I bought Van’s whole grain berry-flavored waffles. I popped them in the oven at 400 degrees for about 10 minutes (midway through my mom kindly reminded me that I could have just toasted them….true) and they were ready to eat! I topped the waffles with honey and sliced up a banana and a couple strawberries to eat along with the waffles.

Yum! Off to squeeze in some reading, and hopefully plan for some baking later today!

What I’m listening to….Tom Ashbrook’s On Point

Leave a comment