WIAW

WIAW: More pumpkin?

Happy Wednesday, bloggies! I don’t know about you, but I am more than ready for this week to be over. It’s way busier than I anticipated with school work and sorority activities. That being said, I may be a bit short on words this week…but I’ll try not to be.

As always, today’s WIAW comes from yesterday. Just a warning- now that I’m looking back on this, I realized I ate a lot of pumpkin. Oh well, you can never have too much of a good thing, right? Thanks again to Jenn for hosting!


Breakfast

For breakfast, I wanted something hot. I guess it didn’t really end up being that way, but it was good all the same. I made a regular batch of oats and mixed in 1/2 cup cottage cheese and tons of cinnamon. I added a scoop of my favorite new Earth Balance peanut butter, and I was good to go. If you’re not a fan of weird textures, you may want to stray away from this.

I ate while checking out some blogs and watching the Today show and Election Day coverage. I also had a banana in the car on the way to class- I lost track of time and was in a hurry!

After class, I headed to Starbucks to get some work done. I’ve been dying to go and study there for the longest time. I used to do it all the time last year, and I missed it. I ordered a grande of the new Thanksgiving Blend with pumpkin spice. It was so good, I definitely want to buy a bag to brew at home.

I got a lot of work done at Starbucks…remember that essay? Totally finished a tentative draft. When I got home, I kept the productivity train going and worked on some other homework while lunch cooked.

Lunch

I made a pumpkin-hummus pizza. Super easy and quick. I mixed equal parts garlic hummus and pumpkin for the sauce, then added spinach, red onion, mushrooms, and green pepper. I baked it at 400 degrees for about 10 minutes. During the last 2 or 3 minutes, I added cheese. When I took it out of the oven, I added some nutritional yeast. Forgot I had it, love the flavor it adds!

Snack

Before my late afternoon class, I was STARVING. I made a snack I read about on Tina’s blog, but adjusted it a little. I mashed up one banana, added the last of my pumpkin, cinnamon, and a scoop of almond butter to a mug and microwaved it for 30 seconds. It hit the spot.

I enjoyed a copious amount of grapes after class. I randomly bought them, but am happy I did!

Dinner

For dinner, I finally decided to use my acorn squash! I made a sausage stuffed acorn squash inspired by a recipe I found on Julie’s blog. I cut the squash in half, deseeded it, and roasted it at 375 degrees for about 40 minutes.

To prepare the stuffing, I sauteed one garlic chicken sausage, spinach, mushrooms, and a chopped onion. Then, I added about 1/2 cup of pasta sauce we had in the fridge (I think it was garlic). I stuffed the squash with my sausage mixture, added some cheese and more nutritional yeast, and I was good to go. I also had some broccoli with sauce on the side…I really love pasta sauce!

I now have the other half of the squash to use…lunch tomorrow? I’m loving being able to use the festive fall squashes in my meals.

We had a meeting for my sorority in the evening so a couple of my sisters and I hit up Starbucks (again!) to get some warm drinks. I had my first peppermint hot chocolate of the season!

When I got back, I sliced up an apple and warmed up almond butter. Warming up nut butters has been my thing has the weather gets colder! I enjoyed my snack with a side of Public Speaking homework and election coverage. No way I stayed up for final results – such an old lady with my sleep schedule.

P.S. I apologize the lighting is absolutely awful in my pictures! #apartmentproblems

What about you? Have any good squash recipes? I’ve got butternut squash fries on the books for next week 🙂 Have a great day!

21 thoughts on “WIAW: More pumpkin?

  1. Looks like delicious food to me! You always make such fancy meals (at least compared to me and my standard plain everything that takes 10 minutes to prepare) Pizza and grapes, though? My favorite! I definitely go to the store just to get grapes sometimes and then the bag is gone in like 20 minutes and I’m just staring at it empty handed haha but I really like your red keyboard on your laptop! So cool!

    • Haha, I love making my food look pretty and appetizing! I love experimenting in the kitchen so taking pretty pictures is just a part of that 🙂 There’s nothing wrong with easy preparation, though!

  2. Oh myyy that pizza looks amazing. What did you use for the crust? And I love warming up my almond butter! Thank goodness I’m not the only weirdo in the world who does that.
    Thanks for sharing!

  3. Oh my goodness all your eats look so good! I love Starbucks Thanksgiving Blend and hope they make it in a K-cup. I really need to invest in the refillable K-cup! Way to go on the productivity! I’ve been such a slacker lately!

  4. Just when I thought your day of eats couldn’t get more delicious after seeing your lunch, you proved me wrong!! Can I please come live with you for a day or so just so I can be fed all your amazing meals?? 🙂

Leave a comment